Bayh-Dole 40th Anniversary Celebration

Wednesday, October 28, 2020 – 1:00 PM TO 3:00 PM EDT

Video Webinar, presented by Bayh-Dole 40 and IP Watchdog

Event Summary

The University and Small Business Patent Procedures Act, better known as “The Bayh-Dole” Act, became law on December 12, 1980. To commemorate the 40th anniversary of this historic legislation, Bayh-Dole 40, in partnership with IP Watchdog, is hosting a video webinar to celebrate the Bayh-Dole Act’s benefits to America’s innovation system and economy.

Speakers from across the political, technology transfer, university research, and legal spheres will share their insights and unique experiences with the Bayh-Dole Act — which range from surviving non-Hodgkin lymphoma thanks to a Bayh-Dole-spurred cancer treatment, to overseeing the tech transfer office that managed the licensing of Google, to drafting the legislation itself. The webinar will also touch on the impact of misusing march-in rights as a price control, the relationship between Bayh-Dole and the U.S. patent system, and the risks assumed by the private sector when commercializing a publicly-funded innovation.

Niels Reimers, founder and former executive director of Stanford University’s Office of Technology Licensing, accepts the Bayh-Dole 40 Lifetime Achievement Award.


Joseph P. Allen
Executive Director, Bayh-Dole 40
Former President, National Technology Transfer Center
Sen. Robert Dole
Co-author of the Bayh-Dole Act
Former Senator (1969-1996) and Senate Majority Leader (1995-1996)
Chris Bayh
Attorney, Barnes & Thornburg LLP
Son of Senator Birch Bayh
Walter Copan

Under Secretary of Commerce for Standards and Technology, U.S. Department of Commerce
Director, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Betsy de Parry
Patient advocate
18-year survivor of non-Hodgkin lymphoma thanks to the Bayh-Dole Act
Carol Mimura
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Intellectual Property & Industry Research Alliances, University of California, Berkeley
Former Executive Director, U.C. Berkeley Office of Technology Licensing
Steve Azevedo
Retired researcher and project engineer, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL)
Steve Susalka
Chief Executive Officer, AUTM
John Preston
Founder and Former Director, MIT Technology Licensing Office
Gene Quinn
Patent attorney
Founder of IP Watchdog
IAM Magazine “World’s Leading IP Strategists” appointee (2017-2020)
Managing IP Magazine “50 Most Influential People in IP” appointee (2014, 2019)
Kevin Walters
Strategic Research Coordinator, Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF)
Kathy Ku
Former Executive Director, Stanford University Office of Technology Licensing
Chief Licensing Officer, Wilson Sonsini
Niels Reimers
Founder and Former Executive Director, Stanford University Office of Technology Licensing